Maybe an epiphany?


I spent most of this week on the couch due to what I thought was the flu and turned out to be  a really bad UTI.   I have never been so miserable in my life.  I missed 3 days of work.  3 days, at home with no human contact and barely any human interaction.

Due to this illness, I was forced to be by myself.  At one point on day 2, I was shedding tears because I was in pain and I was alone and I couldn’t find any relief.

I have spent a lot of my time trying not to be alone and here I was sick, and all alone.  I didn’t even have anyone to text to bring  me food.

Being forced to be with just myself was a good thing.  I decided that a few of the guys I am texting, I shouldn’t be and couldn’t care less if i stopped.   I realized that the “I have to find a man” is not doing anything for me.  I am going to go to more of my meet ups.   Hang out with friends, enjoy time with myself  and be a better person.

I don’t know if it was an epiphany or just mid-grade fever messing with my head.

It is Friday night at 9:30 pm. I just ate and watched Grey’s Anatomy.  Earlier I helped a friend go get a used car and bring it back to my place till he can get tags for it.   Had I wanted to hang out with a guy (other than my friend)  I could have.   I chose not to.   I am enjoying my time.   I am enjoying feeling better than I have in days.   I am being me.

Amazing things happen when you get time to sit back and look at stuff.   Also, when you amaze yourself at how strong you actually are.

I am progressing. I am coming along, sometimes slowly, but moving forward.

Hugs!

About loveshugs

I am a divorced mother of two awesome, crazy kids. I am learning to love myself, create and be my own happiness and to find love again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Maybe an epiphany?

  1. It was a totally different situation, but when 19-year-old me was in a cast for a broken bone in my foot and I couldn’t do much of anything I had this “WHY WASN’T I DOING ALL THE STUFF I WANT TO DO WHILE MY FOOT WAS FINE?!” epiphany, so I get where you’re coming from. Though I don’t see the harm in a bit of male companionship, what it really boils down to is what is *more* worth your time. Glad to see you’re embracing a bit of me time!

  2. charlypriest says:

    The last sentence is very true, isn´t it amazing at how human beings can be. Each in his own different way but I found in general, or at least me and some other close people near me that you and them would actually do quite amazing things at the end and when at the beginning all seemed dark.

Leave a comment